Dallas junior John Betzko is first team all star selection

By Tom Robinson - For Dallas Post


Dallas junior John Betzko was a first-team selection on defense when Wyoming Valley Conference coaches named their all-star team.

The Mountaineers also had four underclassmen, including three more sophomores, on the second team.

Junior Christian Motley was picked as a long-stick midfielder. The sophomores were T.J. Herron on the attack along with Michael Starbuck and David Lipinski as defensive midfielders.

The honorable mention list included Dallas senior defender Zack Kalna, Dallas junior midfielder Nick Solinsky, Lake-Lehman senior midfielder Trey Borger and Tunkhannock junior goalie Sergey Montross.



The Times Leader recently named its all-star teams for the winter sports seasons and the Back Mountain was well-represented, including major honors from the Wilkes-Barre daily newspaper for Abby Zolner, Romayne Mosier, Steven Newell and Mike Richards from Dallas and Tim Mislevy from Tunkhannock.

Zolner was named Girls Swimmer of the Year while Mosier was Coach of the Year.

Newell was selected Wrestler of the Year.

Mislevy was Coach of the Year in boys swimming.

Zolner earned four state medals. The four-time all-star, who earned seven state medals and six district gold medals in her career, plans to continue her swimming career on the NCAA Division I level at the University of Pittsburgh.

With Zolner leading the way, Mosier guided Dallas to a second-place finish in the state in Class 2A. Mosier was selected Pennsylvania High School Swim Coach of the Year after leading the Mountaineers to their fourth straight District 2 Class 2A team title along with titles in six events on the district level and medals in six events on the state level.

Newell, a junior, passed the 100-win mark for his career and qualified for the state tournament.

With Newell’s help, Richards guided Dallas to a second-place finish in the District 2 Class 3A tournament. The Mountaineers advanced seven wrestlers to regionals.

Mislevy guided Tunkhannock to a one-point win in the season finale, completing its first perfect season in 21 years to win the WVC title.

Senior swimmer Annalise Cheshire, sophomore swimmer Missy Leonard, senior diver Gianna Leo and junior diver Jaelyn Shaver all joined Zolner from Dallas on the girls swimming all-star team.

Gabby Krochta and Emma Thomas made the second team, which also included Cate Blaum and Emily Blaum, two Holy Redeemer swimmers from the Back Mountain.

Dallas junior 285-pounder Shawn Henninger, Lake-Lehman senior 285-pounder Kaleb Konigus, Tunkhannock sophomore 106-pounder David Evans and Tunkhannock junior 132-pounder Tommy Traver joined Newell on the wrestling all-star team.

Seniors Mikail Krochta, Tony Caravaggio and Ryan Spears and sophomore Shane Szczecinski represented Dallas on the boys swimming all-star team.

Tunkhannock seniors Sawyer Aitken, a diver, and Alex Bushre also made the team along with Tigers sophomore Jack Tidball and Wyoming Seminary senior Yonah Wasik, a former Lake-Lehman swimmer.

The second team included Dyllan Henning, Dylan Mislevy and Hunter Whytashek from Tunkhannock.

Dallas seniors Joey Parsons and Jay Bittner made the boys basketball all-star team.

The second team included Alex Charlton from Dallas and Tyler Faux from Tunkhannock.

Lake-Lehman junior Savannah Purdy was a second-team choice on the girls all-star team.


By Tom Robinson

For Dallas Post

Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-991-6387 or by email at news@mydallaspost.com.

Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-991-6387 or by email at news@mydallaspost.com.