Only Yesterday: Girl Scout Troop 1949 held Mother-Daughter Tea in 1948

Compiled by Kim Rollman - For Dallas Post

20 YEARS AGO — 1998

Recently the students at Dallas Middle School competed in the school’s first Science Fair. Students from grades 6, 7 and 8 competed in the areas of life, physical and behavioral sciences. Eighth grade winners were: Life Science – Ryan Morgan, Philip Pack and Laura Vodzak; Physical Science – Charles Suppon, Brandon Pall and Kelly Jacobs; Behavioral Science – Michael Miller, Elizabeth Eby and Jeffrey Jumper.

The Dallas Area Federated Women’s Club recently awarded book scholarships to David Williams and Brian Blase. Both are seniors at Dallas High School and plan to attend college in the fall. The scholarships were awarded on the basis of scholastic achievement, school activities, community involvement and financial need.

30 YEARS AGO — 1988

Borton’s Bears, from the Dallas Junior High School, recently became the sixth grade intramural floor hockey champions. The victors received a plaque recognizing their achievement from Mrs. Ann Seitz and Miss Robyn Jones, intramural directors. Team members: Jean Riedlinger, Courtney Gauntlett, Kelly McDonald, Tammy Barna, Stacey Gobbler, Michelle Siglin, Jennifer Hobbs, Rob Ricker, Tim White, Richard Sickler, Mike Goldsmith, Jeremy Sobeck, James Montgomery, Davis Quare, Chris Miller and Brian Brady.

Don Spencer, of Lehman, a freshman at Penn State Wilkes-Barre was recently named the recipient of the Kolesar Athletic Award. Originated by Professor John Kolesar of the Wilkes-Barre campus, this award is given to the student who has most distinguished him or herself in the area of athletic accomplishment during the academic year. Majoring in surveying technology, Spencer is the catcher on the Penn State Wilkes-Barre baseball team and is an all-state candidate in the Pennsylvania Collegiate Athletic Conference.

40 YEARS AGO — 1978

A resident of Dallas, recent King’s graduate Barbara DelVecchio was named “Student Teacher of the Year” at the college. Barbara, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John DelVecchio, completed student teaching requirements at Wyoming Valley West, Plymouth Junior High School. The award was presented at a dinner meeting of the King’s Student National Education Association, which has Prof. Michael Beky as its advisor.

Volunteer aides of Dallas Township Elementary School were honored last Thursday by the faculty and staff at a luncheon held in the school cafeteria. Those honored were: Genie Wartella, Jane Huey, Joan Ogurkis, Marsha Paczewski, Judy Rhone, Rita Masley, Jean Warneka, Kaye Shiner, Jacquelyn Casselberry, Beverly Shutlock, Elaine Moran, Sharon Martin and Beverly Yudiski.

50 YEARS AGO — 1968

The St. Paul’s Lutheran team won the championship of the Back Mountain Church League which bowls on Wednesdays at Crown Imperial Bowling Lanes. Team members are Art Morgan, Matt Evans, Roy Stair, Bob Monk and Tex Wilson. Dave Zimmerman, sixth man, filled in near the end when Tex injured his leg and could not bowl.

The Freshman Class of Dallas Junior High School was recently honored at a dance by the eighth grade in the school gymnasium. The Freshman Farewell was highlighted by the coronation of the queen, Miss Pam Morris, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Morris, Trucksville.

Cadette Troop 639, led by Mrs. Charles Albert, held a Court of Honor on May 27 with Junior Troop 640 for the Challenge of the Girl Scout Promise. The court consisted of Melanie Albert and Carol Pilger from Troop 639, joined by Dana Ziegler, Janice Demmy and Susan Tenley from Troop 640. The candidates for the Challenge of the Girl Scout Promise were Charlene Demmy and Nancy Rodda. The court examined them by asking questions about the Promise and its application to their life. The court found the girls eligible and awarded them the Challenge pins and their First Class emblems.

60 YEARS AGO — 1958

Fred B. Howell, Pioneer Avenue, Shavertown, is retiring on June 13 after 33 years of teaching mechanical drawing at GAR High School, thirty-four in the teaching profession. He expects to make good use of his ability in remodeling and craftsmanship in his own home, carrying out a variety of plans. Travel will be in the picture too, with a trip to California probable in the fall for Fred and Alice.

Lehman Township Volunteer Fire Company met last Thursday evening in the fire hall to make plans for its 14th annual Lehman Horse Show to be held July 3 and 4. Due to the great number of entries in the Lehman show in recent years, firemen have extended their annual July 4th show to start the evening of July 3, when a two-hour show will be staged. Planning the show are: Ervin Connor, Glenn Johnson, W.E. Chamberlain, Robert Disque, Myron Baker, Joseph Ellsworth, Francis Stolarick, Herbert Kemmerer, Russell Coolbaugh, Howard Ehret, A.J. Rebar, Joseph Ide, John Major, James Davenport, Lynn Johnson and Warren Mekeel.

Three local girls were graduated from the Wyoming Valley Hospital School of Nursing at Commencement Exercises held in the Jewish Community Center Wednesday night. They are: Shirley Darnell, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Darnell, Loyalville, a graduate of Lake-Noxen High School, Class of 1955; Betsy Rowlands, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Richard Rowlands, Trucksville; and Mrs. Patty Kocher, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Farr, Dallas Township, graduates of Westmoreland High School, Class of 1955.

70 YEARS AGO — 1948

Carverton’s Red Hot Minstrel presented by Mountain Grange on three successive nights in April to capacity audiences, will be repeated on Friday, June 18 in Lehman High School auditorium under the auspices of the WSCS of Jackson Methodist Church. The chorus is directed by Sam Davis. End men are James Sands, Steve Kitchen, Charles Houch, Herman Coon, Bert Coon and Kermit Sickler. Ralph Sands in interlocutor.

The Girl Scouts of Troop 149 entertained their mothers at a Mother-Daughter Tea last Tuesday in the Odd Fellows Hall. The girls presented each mother with a sweet pea and violet corsage which they had made. A program planned by the girls then followed. Scouts and their mothers who attended were: Ann Marie Dunham, Diane Bowman, Joanne Lewin, Nancy Fitch, Mary Catherine Polacky, Jean Franklin, Carol Ann Hilferty, Helene Thevenon, Charlyn Reinfurt, Patricia Keller, Diane Jenkins, Jean Broody, Mildred Kingston, Peggy Ann Nieaza, Gladys Wilson, Sally Kear and Jean Monka.

Compiled by Kim Rollman

For Dallas Post

The Dallas Post is 130 years old. Information appearing here is reprinted exactly as it first appeared.

The Dallas Post is 130 years old. Information appearing here is reprinted exactly as it first appeared.