Last updated: February 19. 2013 8:05PM - 479 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:
20 YEARS AGO – 1992

Nesbitt Memorial Hospital's popular Candy Striping program opened its fall session with more than 70 participants. The program is comprised of girls and boys between the ages of 13 and 17 who volunteer their services to many hospital departments. Among the participants are Desiree Ahlum, Shavertown; Keri Bachman, Dallas; Jackie Gabhardt, Trucksville; Brianna Herron, Dallas; Blake Nagle, Dallas; Becky Nichol, Dallas; Jennifer Quimby, Hunlock Creek; Harmony Suda, Dallas; and Tiffany Suda, Dallas.

30 YEARS AGO - 1982

Dallas Area Gridder Jerry Rollman was named MVP for his performance in the Dallas-Meyers football contest. Rollman, defensive tackle and offensive guard, led the blocking for teammate Greg Kravitski and garnered six sacks in the Mountaineers' victory.

Back Mountain Library Story Hour members presented a giant bookmark to Dallas Mayor Paul LaBar in honor of Children's Book Week. Participating children are: Amy Shoemaker, Marty Noon, Kevin Joseph, A.J. Wyce, Ann Moore, Sherry Love, Shaun Love, Greg Riley, Mike Vozniak, Allyson Jones, Jessica Kern, Robbie Campbell, Geanna Powelia, Jenifer Reese and Kelly Nelen.

40 YEARS AGO - 1972

The Dallas Track team was awarded jackets and patches by the Dallas Lettermen-Booster Club. Members of the team are Wayne Evans, Barry Carle, Ed Connor, Craig Tupper, John Mulhern, Scott Wimmer, Gary Arcuri, Craig Kasper, Douglas Larson, John Hiller, Peter Calkins, Robert Wallace, Charles Griffin, Mark Arcuri, Michael Cybulski, Robert Goeringer, Roger Howell, Joseph O'Malia, Steve Summa, Douglas Wasserott and Michael Kasper.

Karen Sue Lefko was named the recipient of the $500 scholarship awarded each year by the Dallas Junior Woman's Club.

50 YEARS AGO - 1962

Mrs. Francis Desiderio will be installed as president and Susie Crispell as vice president at the meeting of Lake Township Democratic Club, Wednesday at the Sportsman's Club in Noxen. Other officers: secretary, Margaret Grey; assistant secretary, Elsie Franklin; treasurer, Anna Crake; assistant treasurer, Frances Yankoski; chaplain, Betty Lopasky.

Altar and Rosary Society, St. Therese's Church, Shavertown, will hold its annual Christmas Party December 5 in the Church Auditorium. Mrs. Edward Zaboski, general chairman, has appointed the following committee members: Telephone – Mrs. Edward Kupstas, Mrs. John Mihalick; punch bowl – Mrs. Robert Dienne, Mrs. Norman Schoell; decorations – Mrs. Loren Fiske; publicity – Mrs. Joseph Burns.

60 YEARS AGO - 1952

Mrs. Stanley Davies entertained officers and secretaries of the Dallas Methodist WSCS at her home Monday night when reports were given and plans for the Tuesday night meeting were discussed. Present at the meeting were Mesdames J.C. Fleming, president; A.E. Fiske, Raymond Kunert, Lawrence Updyke, Raymond Hidden, William Heapps, Edward Stair, Z.E. Garinger, Edgar Brace, Ruth Fiske and the hostess.

Powder and Wig Club, Dallas-Franklin Township High School, will present a three-act comedy, He Couldn't Marry Five, tonight in the school auditorium. Sponsorship is by the Senior Class and all actors are seniors. Bob Achuff, Don Wiedner, Jessie Carey, Yvonne Schlittler, Betsy Bunney, Gloria Davis, Mary Sholtis, Emma Stritzinger, Carol Swisher and Shirley Welsh compose the cast.

70 YEARS AGO - 1942

The mountains beyond Root Hollow in Wyoming County were the happy hunting grounds for local sportsmen during the bear season which closed Saturday. There late Thursday afternoon Alva Eggelston of Vernon shot a 400-pound black bear, the largest killed hereabouts in many seasons.

Anthracite Chapter Future Farmer's of America elected Joseph Hardisky president succeeding Paul Carlin, and George Stofila, vice president succeeding Card Ward at its reorganization meeting held in Dallas Township High School.

Information for Only Yesterday is taken from back copies of The Dallas Post which is 121 years ago. The information here is printed exactly as it originally appeared.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Dallas Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com