Last updated: February 19. 2013 3:33PM - 362 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:
20 YEARS AGO – 1992

Communications Workers of America at Commonwealth Telephone Company staged an informational picket on October 30th. The current contract for the union was cancelled on October 24th and negotiations on a new three year contract are at a stalemate.

Lehman-Jackson fifth-graders Jason Race, Dan Wolfe and Jason Harris recently compared their pumpkin with that of Joe Swire and Scott Healey in a math exercise in measurements and basic statistics. The exercise was part of Mrs. McKeel's lesson.

30 YEARS AGO - 1982

Brownie Troop 654 held installation ceremonies last week to start another year of activities. Troop members are Angie Coolbaugh, Carlin Tyrell, Heather Hodne, Jessica Kerr, Lynn Murphy, Holly Mannear, Chrissy Veremeychik, Jannell Coolbaugh, Cindy Mair, Judy Kirkendall, Michelle Stahl, Lori Eckert, Patrice Shovila, Ann Smaka, Kelly Freeman, Amy Shelley, Nancy Downend and Kim Baird.

TJ's softball team of Shavertown finished in third place in the first annual playoff tournament of the Der-Nap Slo-Pitch softball tournament. The team also placed first in Division II of the regular league season. Team members are: Jeff Misson, Charlie Malarkey, Charlie Rattigan (manager), Dale Prynn, Andy Prynn, Tom Scouton, Joe Strazdus, Jr., Chris Luksic, John Cummings, Dean Rattigan, Carl Ide and Don Marth.

40 YEARS AGO - 1972

Tropical storm Agnes has not dampened the enthusiasm of members of the Shavertown Branch of Nesbitt Memorial Hospital Auxiliary as they prepare for their 10th annual Holiday Fair which will be held Nov. 15 and 16 in the auditorium of the nurses' home. Committee members include Mesdames Elsa Boehme, Harold Shappelle, W.H. Deirolf, Vincent McGuire, William A. Austin, Leon Beisel, William Brown, Brian Shortz, Abram Nesbitt III, Charles Perkins, Lyman Lull, Elmer Daley, Robert Kleiner, Charles Maxwell and Edward Baker.

50 YEARS AGO - 1962

Ernest A. Gay is general chairman of Dallas Kiwanis Club Harvest Moon Ball, to be held at Irem Temple Country Club Saturday evening, with Bobby Baird's orchestra playing. Decorations, Mr. Baird promised, will be something special, arranged by George McCutcheon with a Harvest motif, and kept a dense secret until the night of the Ball.

Winner of the Woody Woodpecker pendulum clock at the Jonathan R. Davis Fire Auxiliary spaghetti supper in Idetown, was Gus Shuleski, Center Hill Road.

60 YEARS AGO - 1952

Darrel Major, president of the Lehman High School F.F.A., placed in the upper third as a judge of poultry at the National F.F.A. Convention held in Kansas City last weekend. Representatives who judged poultry, alive and dressed as well as eggs, came from every state in the Union.

James Garrity, engaged in laundry and dry cleaning, was welcomed into Dallas Rotary Club at the meeting at Irem Temple Country Club Thursday night. Induction ceremony was conducted by Attorney William Valentine.

70 YEARS AGO - 1942

When the Community Chest's tank visited Dallas schools a few days ago, it was given a royal welcome by the entire student body and faculty. Along with the band and its sparkling twirlers, three champion scrappers led the parade. The three scrappers are: Donald Besecker, Herbert Brobst and Robert Monk. Twirlers included Virginia Ferry, Nancy Hislop and Jane VonArx.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Dallas Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com