Joan Roskos named to Jackson Township Planning Commission

By Eileen Godin - | May 2nd, 2016 2:25 pm

By Eileen Godin

JACKSON TWP. — Supervisors appointed new planning commission members and announced an update to the township’s Property Maintenance Code Ordinance Monday.

The Jackson Township Planning Commission has lost three members since September 2015, said Al Fox, vice supervisor chairperson. The nine-member commission is comprised of volunteers, each serving a four-year term.

Former planning commission members are Dr. Paul Edward Niezgoda, who died in September; Gilbert E. Noll Jr., who died in February; and Kirk Borchert, who resigned in March 2016.

Supervisors Al Fox and Tim Evans approved the appointment of John J. Wilkes, supervisor chairperson, to serve as an alternate member on the commission until Dec. 31.

Joan Roskos, of Huntsville Road, was appointed to the planning commission to fill the remaining eight months of a four-year term.

In March, township resident Dr. David Moore was appointed to fill a three-year term on the commission.

In other news, attorney Jeffrey Malak is scheduled to present an updated Property Maintenance Code ordinance to the supervisors at the June 6 meeting.

The ordinance contains updates to the International Property Maintenance Code that pertain to upkeeping properties and existing structures as well as standardized safety precautions for new construction, Malak said.

The last time the ordinance was updated was in 1999 or 2000, Fox said.

“The most recent 2012 regulations will be included in the ordinance,” Malak said.

The updated ordinance is available for residents to review from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday at the municipal building. Supervisors are scheduled to vote on the revised Property Maintenance Code Ordinance at the June 6 meeting.

Reach Eileen Godin at 570-991-6387 or on Twitter @TLNews.