Only Yesterday: Lillian Answeeni gave talk about wigs at Dallas Women of Kiwanis meeting in 1966

Compiled by Kim Rollman - | October 5th, 2016 2:35 pm

Editor’s note: The Dallas Post is 127 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

20 years ago — 1996

Lake-Lehman High School will kick off its annual homecoming festivities this Saturday at the Edward Edwards Stadium. Queen will be crowned and the class floats will be judged. The following seven girls make up the Homecoming Court: Erin Snell, Christina Farrell, Melissa Morrow, Kathryn Martin, Heidi Sprau, Winter Rusiloski and Debbie White.

Boy Scout Troop 693 recently went on a deep sea fishing trip to Cape May, N.J. They stayed at the Coast Guard Station there and ate in the mess hall with station personnel. Everyone caught a fish. Making the trip were: Steve Balla, asst. Scoutmaster; Steve Honeywell, Dustin Lord, Jackie Cobleigh, Chris Suder, Jeff Primm, Brian Ide, Ryan Lynn, Matt Ide, Jack Cobleigh, asst. Scoutmaster, Dylan Skursky, Matt Hinton, Tim Balla, James Yozwiak, Ray Honeywell, Brain Balla, Rick Blaine, George Lazur Jr. and John Pimm, Scoutmaster.

30 years ago — 1986

Honor and pride reigns once again for the award winning Dallas Area Band as the marching Mountaineers remain undefeated in “The Battle of the Bands” competition sponsored by the Arthritis Foundation held at Wilkes-Barre Memorial Stadium. Performing in Group I, which consists of up to 45 playing members, the band won first place with a score of 63.3. It was also awarded specialty trophies for Best Music and Best Band Front in their respective group. The band is under the direction of Steven Saive and is led onto the field by drum majors Kristen McHenry and Patricia Chismer.

Eighty-seven students donated blood at Dallas High School’s blood drive last week. One donor was Tammy Daveski. The turnout fell just short of the 90 pint goal. Last year only 50 donors registered.

40 years ago — 1976

Charlie Volack, owner of the orange Golf Club, this week announced the results of the course’s tenth annual golf tournament held last Sunday. In the men’s division, Brian Corbett took top honors with a 77. The women’s division saw Mae Edford come in first with Kay McMahon runner-up.

The Division I softball champions Dallas Orioles and Division II champions Dallas Cardinals were recently honored at the Castle Inn with a banquet for 100 players, parents and guests attending. Division I trophies were presented to: Sheri Ciccarelli, Kim Kretchmer, Dianne Hazeltine, Karen Hannigan, Rebecca Carsman, Suzanne Bergevin, Camille Carsman, Patricia Michael, Judy Sholtis, Lynn Busch, Tracey Thomas, Loni Hillard, Katie O’Konski and Barb Eyet.

50 years ago — 1966

A Dallas High School freshman will be honored on Sunday with the highest award in scouting. Gary Kleppinger, son of Mr. and Mrs. Ben Kleppinger, Shavertown, will receive his Eagle Scout Award at a breakfast to be held at Shavertown Methodist Church of which he is a member.

Lillian Answeeni gave a fascinating talk and display of wigs for milady at a meeting of Dallas Women of Kiwanis at Irem Temple Country Club last week. Club members who modeled the wigs were: Mesdames Thomas Kreidler, Leo Corbett, John Blasé, Donald Anthony, Sherman Harter, George Thomas, Vincent Roman, George Seeley, Edward Wilson and Miss Answeeni.

Ruth M. Higgins, Dallas High School, received a letter of commendation on “high performance in the 1966 Merit Scholarship qualifying test.” Ruth is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel V. Higgins, Martz Road.

60 years ago — 1956

Country Couples Club will display their handiwork at Estelle’s Specialty Shop, in advance of the annual Dallas Methodist Church bazaar, later this month. Members have been working all summer on cowboy shirts, doll clothes, felt skirts, knitted goods and lovely dresses for little girls. Mrs. Robert Moore is chairman, assisted by Mrs. Kenneth Bayliss, Mrs. William Baker, Jr. and Mrs. Harry Edwards.

Ray Daring’s new sausage factory will be in operation by the end of October, turning out German style frankfurters, sausage and home cured hickory ham. Located on the Memorial Highway, the one-story structure was started in the spring. John Hislop is a partner in the undertaking.

Area chairmen, Dallas Township, for the United Fund, are Mrs. Walter Elston and Mrs. Ralph Dixon. Captains for the township are Mrs. Fred Shupp, Mrs. Stanley Davies, Jr., Mrs. Calvert Birnstock, Mrs. John Culp, Jr., Mrs. Andrew Roberts and Marie Thevenon.

70 years ago — 1946

The Durbin Sunday School Class of Dallas Methodist Church will sponsor an old fashioned box social on Friday evening in the church social rooms. Mrs. Herbert Williams of Trucksville, will give a costume reading. A Barbershop Quartet will sing several numbers. Mr. John Roberts and son, John will offer instrumental numbers. A pantomime, “Belle and Bill,” will be presented. Mrs. Alva Eggleston is chairman of the social, with Mrs. Niles M. White chairman of the program.

Henry M. Laing Fire Auxiliary will sponsor a card party to be held in the Dallas Borough High School this Friday. Mrs. Guy Dunham is chairman of the affair, assisted by: Mrs. Cora Dunham, kitchen; Mrs. Nelson Shaver, Mrs. Marcus Ide, decorating; Mrs. Arthur Newman and Mrs. Earl Monk, prizes; Mrs. Thomas Kingston, tickets.

Compiled by Kim Rollman

Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-675-5211 or by email at