Only Yesterday: Fifteen young women named Lady of the Lake Lions Club Beauty Contest semi-finalists in 1956

Compiled by Kim Rollman - | August 24th, 2016 2:01 pm

Editor’s note: The Dallas Post is 127 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

20 years ago — 1996

Boy Scouts from Troop 281 Dallas recently went white water rafting and visited the boulder field at Hickory Run State Park. Participants included Steve Neiman, Lee Griffin, RJ Barna, Dave Neiman, John Cyprich, Dave Kowalek, Aaron Stredny, Chris Riley, Phil Dale, Bob Riley, Joshua Halbing, Mike Neiman, Karl Kavashay, Ryan Stredny, Matt Mark, John Paul Lech, Andrew Dale, Eric Kowalek, Brian Downey, John Halbing, Phil Neiman and Floyd Mattie.

Dallas High School students Sarah Wysocki of Dallas and Dean Evans III of Trucksville recently received book scholarships of $400 each from the Dallas area Federated Women’s Club.

The Meadows Nursing Center, Dallas, recently gave special recognition to students from the Independent Living Class at Lake-Lehman Senior High School who participated in an intergenerational program during the past school year. Teacher-Program Director Lynn Evans, residents and students enjoyed lunch at Pickett’s Charge Restaurant, where certificates of recognition were awarded to Michelle Carver, Jennilyn Sprau, Cathy Dymond, Cori Manka, Rachel Chamberlain and Jan Morgan.

30 years ago — 1986

A class of 14 young people was confirmed and received into church membership of the Shavertown United Methodist Church recently at a special service. Those confirmed are: Susan W. Scovell, Heather L. May, Paul D. Deeble, Gretchen L. Schuler, Cynthia D. Karchmar, Melanie R. Langdon, Tiffany J. Owens, Andrea D. Bunney, Kristin K. Cypher, Terry H. Ogle, Shawn D. Straka, Douglas A. Ogle, Eric M. Paczewski and Joseph W. Gilbert.

The Little League Pirates took the championship in their division on the Little League Major Division. Receiving their trophies at the Little League picnic held last weekend at the Luzerne County Fairgrounds were Mike Neal, Brad Kozick, Steve Buckley, Joseph Kristan, Chuck Finn, Matt Bogdan and Coach Frank Paczewski.

The Lehman United Methodist Church Youth Fellowship Group elected new officers. They are Kim Weidner, president; Alan Perrego, vice president; Jennifer Jones, treasurer; and Colleen Felty, secretary.

40 years ago — 1976

About 40 boys and girls turned out for the 10th Annual Homerun Derby of the Dallas Kiwanis. Winners included Karen Konopki, Rene Corcoran, Pam Corcoran, Tammy Yudiski, Mark Konopki, Rich Gdovin, Pat Muldoon, Tony Hudak, Rob Dombek, Kurt Goeringer, Ann Farrell, Bonnie Cook, Michael Masters, Mark Wisniewski, Marilyn Wisniewski and Matthew McLaughlin.

Several wrestlers from Lake-Lehman High School and from Dallas High School are attending the second annual Husky Wrestling School at Bloomsburg State College this week. Participants from Lehman include Tom Williams, Dave Kyle, Luther Jones, Dana Sutliff, Jim Ashton and Mike Kyle. Tom Stredny represented Dallas.

50 years ago — 1966

Linda Rae Taylor, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Clyde Taylor Jr., Dallas, has been awarded a nursing scholarship by the Geisinger Medical Center. Miss Taylor, who will begin her studies in September, was notified of the $200 scholarship award by Mrs. Emma Jean Knapper, director of nursing. She was one of 13 scholarship winners among the 72 girls who are enrolled in the class. Taylor is a graduate of Dallas High School.

Howard L. Post, Sweet Valley, was chosen leader and Tim Carroll, delegate to represent the Explorer Scouts from Wyoming Valley Council at the third annual conference held at Indiana University four days last week.

Stephen Goode, Jackson Street, Dallas, celebrated his 13th birthday, Wednesday night, with a sleep-out party. Attending were Brent Long, Jackie Snyder, Mac Fry and the guest of honor.

60 years ago — 1956

Two concerts will be given next week by the summer band sponsored by Dallas Borough-Kingston Township schools. Enrollment in the summer program up to date has been 147, including 72 twirlers and 75 instrumental students. The band of about 60 members has prepared a varied program of marches, overtures and popular numbers. There will be a selection by a group of fifth, sixth and seventh graders: Robert Brown, Judy Williams, John Wardell, Kay Ide, Allen Cease, Allen Robertson, Jean Ide, Mary Bennett and Donald Anderson.

Semi-finalists in the Lady of the Lake Lions Club Beauty Contest were reduced from thirty-one to fifteen during the elimination contest Sunday afternoon. Remaining will compete for the title next Sunday at 3. They are: Barbara Vital, Vicki Kovacs, Alice Hughes, Pearl E. Savelli, Julia Herman, Virginia Lee Hardy, Sallyrae Koepke, Marilyn G. Shaver, Marion Salvo, Evelyn Kotis, Marvie Nadwodney, Violet Kosloski, Jane Pulleri, Lucille Gagliardi and Barbara Jean Wheeler.

70 years ago — 1946

Dr. Henry M. Laing Fire Company Community Band will give an outdoor concert at the bandstand on Veteran’s Memorial Drive on Sunday afternoon. Mrs. Samuel Davis of Trucksville will be guest soloist and Mr. Ralph Paul will direct the band.

Efforts of many Lehman Township residents to create an active effective police force were rewarded Wednesday night when the organizational meeting of Lehman Township Police Association was held in Lehman High School. The previous system of policing the township had proved inadequate. With part of Harveys Lake and Lake Silkworth under his jurisdiction, Chief Joseph Ide could not do a thorough job with the force at his disposal. Under the new system, members of the force are located in all sections of the township and will be available whenever Chief Ide needs assistance.

Compiled by Kim Rollman

Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-675-5211 or by email at