Only Yesterday: Harveys Lake Little League boys copped Championship of the Robert Horlacher League in 1966

Compiled by Kim Rollman -


    Editor’s note: The Dallas Post is 127 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

    20 years ago — 1996

    Newell Fuel Service recently honored drivers with jackets and bonuses for accident-free driving and handling of petroleum products. Awardees are Frank Kelly, Randy Croman, Ed Edmunds, Tom Ladamus, Brian Freeman, Mark Ryan, Fred Hoeffner, Sam Atkinson, Mike Krieger and Butch Eckhart.

    Beth Hartshorne recently competed in the Precision Unlimited Dance Competitions at the Mountain Laurel Resort and won first place in every category she entered. Beth won first place in solo lyrical and solo tap. She and her duo partner Kara Shilinski won first place in the lyrical, tap and open categories. They also won the competition’s duo/trio award for the highest scoring duo/trio in the competition. Beth, who will be a junior at Dallas High School, is a member of the Bobbette Dance Company.

    30 years ago — 1986

    Two Back Mountain Girls were members of the Division 2 field hockey team that took the gold medal at the Pennsylvania Keystone State Games at Penn State’s Main Campus last weekend. Lori Warneka, a junior at Dallas High School, and Susie Slocum, a junior at Lake-Lehman High School, played on the forward line during the games. Both girls played field hockey in junior high school and are now members of the varsity teams at their schools.

    Myers Bus Line and the Penn State Wilkes-Barre Continuing Education Department recently presented a bus ridership safety programs for more than 200 campers, ages 4-14, at the Jewish Community Center Campo in Idetown. Ron Fuller, assistant transportation specialist at Penn State, presented basic bus safety principals to the campers through discussion, visual aids and a film. Some of the students who participated are Kim Frank, Jordan Moseman, Jessica Nataupsky, Danny Spath, Rebecca Rosenblum, Amy Cohen, Naomi Greenwald, Jessica Moseman, Peter Casterline, Jonathon Geller, Shelly Nelson and Kerry Morris.

    40 years ago — 1976

    Carolyn Bynon, ladies auxiliary chairman for the Dallas Fire and Ambulance, Inc. “Country Carnival” next week has announced committee chairpersons. Rita Carroll will chair food arrangements; Elizabeth Layaou and Dorothy Pope, potato pancakes; Jannette Grieves, pierogies; Nancy Christensen, pizza; Evelyn Kenealy, ice cream; Gail Barry, machines; Blodwen Shaffer, arts and crafts; Sandy Sheehan, white elephant; Dorothy McFadden and Resia Carroll, tickets.

    The Lake-Lehman High School class of 1971 held their five year class reunion at Hanson’s Park, Harveys Lake, last weekend. Attendees included Gayle Post, Debra Petroski, Doreen Rosenfeld, Joanita Salla, Kathy Sponseller, Robin Rogers, Kathy McDade, Linda Niezgoda, Linda Gaylord, Marie Bowen, Linda Adams, Jacklyn Adams, Susan Nalbone, Cathy Edwards, Linda Kittle, Sherry Margellina, Kendra Cosgrove, Phil Krasner, Adam Stefanowicz, Richard Derby, Walter Belsky, Joan Kingsbury and Charlene Yurko.

    50 years ago — 1966

    The Harveys Lake Little League boys copped the 1966 Championship of the Robert Horlacher League last week with an impressive record of 15 wins and 3 losses. Members of the team are: Harry Loomis, Scott MacDougall, George Alles, Jim Davis, Pete Marbach, Terry Cadwalader, Tom Davis, Emmett Hoover, Bob Engle, Bob Stevens, Stan Miner, Walt Wesley, Frank Lutinski, Dave Smith and Bill Kern.

    Joleen Shaw, aged thirteen, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wilbur Shaw, Sweet Valley, has received a letter from President Lyndon Johnson. Joleen had written our nation’s Chief Executive concerning some predictions she had heard and a dream which carried out the prediction. She dreamed that we were at war. Within two weeks, Johnson had answered the Sweet Valley girl, a freshman at Lake Lehman High School.

    John B. Cathrall, teacher in Dallas High School, was one of 829 University of Oklahoma students to receive degrees in ceremonies Sunday, in Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. Mr. Cathrall received a Master of Natural Science.

    60 years ago — 1956

    Mrs. Lester Squier was elected president and Mrs. John Roberts, vice president, at the recent meeting of Lehman W.S.C.S. Other officers named were: Mesdames Charles Ely, Secretary; Raymond Searfoss, Treasurer; Edwin Wright, Promotion Secretary; William Drabick, Mission Secretary; A.M. Major, Secretary of Social Relations and local Church Activities; Joseph Ellsworth, Secretary of Student’s Work; Charles Nuss, Secretary of Youth; Elbert Coombs, Secretary of Children’s Work; H.A. Brown, Secretary of Spiritual Life; Leonard Ide, Literature and Publications; Clifford Erwine, Secretary of Supplies; Randolph Wright, Secretary of Status of women; Russell Ide, Sickness and Distress; and Kenneth O’Neill, Study Books.

    Mrs. Thomas Gauntlet, Goss Manor, entertained members of her card club at her home on Wednesday night. Present were Mrs. Philip Cheney, Mrs. Ambrose Gavigan, Mrs. Loren Dymond, Mrs. Allen Montross, Mrs. John Butler, Mrs. William Lee, Mrs. Harry Lefko and the hostess.

    70 years ago — 1946

    Mrs. William Brown was guest of honor at a farewell luncheon given by Mrs. Milford Shaver and Mrs. Ross Lewin at the Lewin home, Goss Manor, yesterday. Mrs. Brown and children will leave shortly for New Jersey from where they will join Rev. Brown in Europe. She was presented with a going away gift. Present at the luncheon were: Mrs. Arthur Pruett, Mrs. Lettie Culver, Mrs. Lester Evans, Mrs. John Yaple, Mrs. L.L. Richardson, Mrs. Della Thompson, Mrs. Lloyd Richards and Mrs. Don Evans.

    Mrs. Walter Covert and Mrs. Ralph Frantz recently entertained at a bridal shower in honor of Miss Bette Jones. Games were played and prizes awarded to Mrs. Joseph Mattern, Mrs. John Jewell and Virginia Besecker.

    Compiled by Kim Rollman

    Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-675-5211 or by email at

    Reach the Dallas Post newsroom at 570-675-5211 or by email at

    comments powered by Disqus