Only Yesterday: Cub Pack 281, Dallas, held a Raingutter Sailboat regatta in 1986

For Dallas Post


    20 years ago — 1996

    Mrs. Aldrow’s fifth grade class at Westmoreland Elementary was visited recently by naturalist Jerry Kozlansky from Frances Slocum State Park, who spoke about bats and their nature. The class has decided to make a bat box and donate it to the state park. Attending were: Caity Bessmer, Ashley Toman, Paul Price, Krystle Matthews, Vanessa Gogates, Josh Brakefield and Jimmy Larson.

    The Back Mountain Blast U-12 boys’ travel team took second place in the state cup division of the 1996 EPYSA/USYSA Snickers National Championship competition. Members of the team are: Brian McMahon, Ricky Branco, Adam Burkland, Ryan martin, Chip Harrison, Drew Suszko, David Walters, Ryan Love, Andrew George, Jamie Rhodes, Jason Mahle, Wally Karl and Faneck.

    30 years ago — 1986

    Cub Pack 281, Dallas recently held a Raingutter Sailboat regatta. Members of the Back Mountain Jaycees served as judges and provided a trophy. Winners were: Carl Wiedlich, Ron Dugan, Chris Brown, Jamie Bottoms, Donald Hosey, Ray Buchman, David Townsend, Brad Bryant, Griffin Bicking, Joseph Noon and Dennis Miller.

    The Martz Trailways Phillies girls’ softball team is the 1986 first-half champions of the Bob Horlacher Memorial Little League. The girls have won nine games in a row with three shut-outs. Members of the team are: Becky Walter, Tracey Hummel, Missy Kopko, Jenny Parise, Karen Sickler, Tammy Kopko, Shannon Mack, Jill Smigielski, Karen Jo Halowich, Tanya Martin, Shannon Avery, Karen Zier, Karen Stefanowicz, Jenny Smith and Lizann Kelly.

    The Noxen Fire Company recently held their annual Homecoming on the company grounds. Missy Kocher was named Noxen Queen and Jenny Russell, Noxen Princess. Members of the Court were: Crystal Visineski, Carol Lynn Shefler, Rhona Lee Visineski, last year’s queen; Autumn Wood and Amanda Frazier.

    40 years ago — 1976

    The red, white and blue dominated Mercy Center Kindergarten and Preschool end-of-year activities. A special Bicentennial play was presented Monday night in Misericordia’s Walsh Auditorium. Some of the participants were Michael Stelmack, Howard Strom, Hugh Mundy, Kevin Sult, Megan Fisher, Ray Conrad, Sandra Corcoran, Patrick Nulton, Michael Baganski, Michele Kirchner, Michelle Brubaker, Kathryn Nelson, Shelby Girard, and Melissa Crosbie.

    At the Luzerne County Bicentennial Relay Run held recently, two Lake-Lehman students were in the field of 76 runners. The only females in the race, Kim Dinger and Sally Galka of Lake-Lehman School District, joined 74 males in the run. The girls were recognized and presented with copies of the Declaration of Independence by Jim Cefalo, honorary race chairman.

    50 years ago — 1966

    Oak Hill Brownie Troop 642 had a chicken dinner and fly-up ceremony at Brothers Four Restaurant recently. The following Brownies became Junior Girl Scouts: Nikki Belasco, Margaret Ann Godek, Nancy Callahan, Kim Davis, Theresa Zabiski, Patricia Kleck, Joyce Pimm, Susan Stepanik, and Pamela Darling.

    Lehman Girl Scout Troop 650 held its Court of Awards Monday evening, at a dinner served by the girls and their parents. The dinner consisted of food from various countries prepared by girls who received the chef badge for doing so. Chef, Hostess, Child Care and homemaker badges were awarded to Patsy Major, Peggy Disque, Wilma Weaver, Linza Sutton, Audrey Lyons, Nancy Gensel, Kathy Lyons, Carol Addison, Linda Niezgoda, Kathy Kemmerer and Kathy Spencer.

    Judy Kocher, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Kocher, Lehman, received the Harveys Lake Lions Club Scholarship at Class Night last Friday. Judy intends to use her scholarship at Millersville State College, where she will major in English.

    60 years ago — 1956

    Lyle Merithew, Dallas resident who works as a carpenter to keep the household functioning bet gets many thrills in life owning and driving high-powered racing automobiles, is the vice president of the new Tri-Cities Racing Association, group promoting weekly shows at the George Bone Stadium quarter-mile track in Pittston, regarded as the finest in the East.

    James Lohman, Shavertown, spent eight days recently in Nesbitt Hospital where he was taken by ambulance after breaking two bones in his arm while playing baseball with the Fowler Dick and Walker team at Kirby Park. A member of the opponent team, Acme Stores, accidentally ran into him as he was coming to the home plate. The game, then in the third inning, was discontinued.

    Gail Woolbert, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ted Woolbert, Shavertown, has been chosen editor of Susquehanna University’s year book, The Lanthorn, for the coming year. Gail, who graduated from Westmoreland High School in 1954, is English major.

    70 years ago — 1946

    Helen Stoeckel was awarded the PTA prize for having the highest scholastic standing for the school year at Dallas Borough High School and Jean Monk the prize for showing the greatest improvement during the year. Both prizes were awarded at the close of school.

    On the beautiful natural lawn of the J.R. Davis estate, surrounded by baskets of cut flowers and growing garden flowers, the Confidence Class of Idetown Church held a garden party last Friday. Mrs. Murphey read “The Farmer Takes a Wife” to the delight of a very nice crowd. Some of the attendees were: Mrs. Raymond Spencer, Mrs. Howard Boice, Mrs. Ted Parrish, Mrs. W.H. Nevel, Mrs. Charles Barnum, Mrs. Rose Anderson, Mrs. Claire McKenna, Mrs. Paul Parrish, Mrs. Henry Bergstrasser, Mrs. Glenn Spencer, Mrs. Earnest Fritz and Mrs. James Morton.

    For Dallas Post

    The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

    The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

    comments powered by Disqus