Only Yesterday: Tracy Innes, of Shavertown, crowned May Queen at Wyoming Seminary’s May Day in 1976

For Dallas Post | May 18th, 2016 2:23 pm

For Dallas Post

20 years ago — 1996

Seventeen Gate of Heaven School students in grades 7, 8 and 9 presented science projects Monday and Tuesday at the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science at Penn State main campus in State College. Together they garnered six first place awards, nine seconds and one third. Participants are: Jess Carboni, Bryan Wagner, Shannon Lupien, Steven Grabowski, Maria Wright, Katie Creamer, Nick Suchocki, Nicole Seitz, Jess Bruns, Kim Urban, Katie Guntli, Mike Regan, Samantha Leandri, Chelsey Ostrowsky, Jocelyn Kozick, Jessica Gionta and K.C. Boback.

Small Wonders Nursery School, Shavertown, recently brought in two Game Commission Wildlife Conservation Officers, Jim Jolley and Dave Allen, to present animals of our area and how they live. Children who participated in the learning opportunity were: Tyler Coleman, David Zurek, Larissa Lamoreaux, Rebecca Yanuzzi, J.J. Carr, Anthony Smith, Richard Wengrzynek, Chad Miller, Scott Skammer, David Scherer, Danielle Nafus and Erin Belles.

30 years ago — 1986

Mark Richardson of Dallas High School came in first place in the 800-meter run in the District 2 competition last Friday with a time of 1:58.4 to qualify for the state competition this weekend at Shippensburg State University.

The Castlettes of Dallas came in first in the Pennsylvania Women’s Bowling Tournament in Erie last weekend with a team total of 2394. Members of the team are Jeanne Clark, Sharon Spencer, Arlene Hospodar, Nola Taylor and Connie Doty.

Brownie Troop 640 of Lehman recently went on a tour of Nesbitt Memorial Hospital. The girls made get-well cards and passed them out to the patients at the hospital. Participants included Alison Stubb, Jennifer Brewer, Adrienne Miroslaw, Kim Gaylord, Becky Sutton and Winter Rusiloski.

40 years ago — 1976

Tracy Innes, Shavertown, was crowned May Queen of Wyoming Seminary’s recent May Day. Jane Robinson, Dallas, was an attendant for the event. Miss Innes and Miss Robinson were co-chairmen of the May Day program, a student-organized hour of skits, musical numbers and gymnastics.

Girl Scouts of Junior Troop 630, Trucksville, took second prize in the Wilkes-Barre Woman’s Club’s recent Arts & Crafts Contest, with the hoop rug they made over a hula hoop. Years ago the women made them on a wagon wheel. Troop members are Kim Ritts, Kristen Marquart, Terri D’Agrosa, Lori Castellani, Trudy Cevasco, Beth Ann Gallagher, Janine Wertman, Karen Evans and Bonnie Lee Kester.

50 years ago — 1966

Clarence E. (Caddie) LaBar, Dallas; John Gorda, Trucksville; and Rowland R. Ritts, Dallas, were honored last night by Sun Oil Company for a combined total of 50 years of service to motorists as Sunoco dealers.

Annual spring dance sponsored by the Parent-Teacher-Guild of Gate of Heaven School will be held tomorrow night at O’Connell’s Twin Lakes. Committees under the chairmanship of Thomas Balutis, have been busy planning games, novelty dances, and surprises for the guests.

Cub Scouts of Den 5, Pack 281, Dallas, went bowling at Tony Bonomo’s bowling lanes recently. Taking team names of “The Tempests” and “The Darts” the boys showed real team spirit as they competed for high score. The Tempests were the winners with Billy Perry high man. Attending were John Earl, Jackie Coon, Rick Earl, Billy Perry, Dana Parrish, Douglas Wasserott, Debbie Jo and Mrs. Joan Wasserott.

60 years ago — 1956

Marilyn Elaine Conden was elected May Queen, and Nancy Marie Boone, Maid of Honor, by Dallas-Franklin-Monroe Township senior high school students to preside over May Day activities this week on the athletic field. Attendants will be Peggy Bunney, Mollie Carey, Barbara Norbut, Peggy Szafran, Barbara Cheney, Judy Romanoski, Mae Kingsbury and Pat Whittaker.

The following girls participated in the Business Education Contest at the Bloomsburg State Teacher’s College earlier this month, accompanied by Miss Ethel Shultz and Kenneth Kirk, business teachers at Dallas-Franklin-Monroe high School. Naomi Lech, a junior, participated in the typewriting contest; Arlene Mulnix, junior, in the book-keeping contest; and two senior girls, Carol Altemus and Wilma Weidner, in the shorthand contest.

70 years ago — 1946

Five Noxen school girls took part in the reforestation program conducted by Noxen Township schools at the school forest on Schooley Mountain. One of the first forests of its kind in the state, the plan was inaugurated by John Corliss, chairman of Dallas Rotary Club’s forestry committee, on land donated by Dr. F. Budd Schooley. The girls are: Constance Weber and Lois Traver, ninth grade; Virginia Patton, Beulah Deater, seventh grade; and Evelyn Wright, eighth grade.

Abe Bellas and his Musical Mountaineers will be the feature attraction Friday night when Daddow-Isaacs Post American Legion conducts a farmer dance at Dallas High School Auditorium for the benefit of the Legion’s Building Fund. There will be a cake walk and a number of other entertaining features to enliven the program.

“Slow Poke” a rollicking comedy, will be presented by the Senior M.Y.F. in Carverton Grange Hall Wednesday under the auspices of the young people of Carverton Methodist Church.

The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.