Only Yesterday: Tom Byron of Dallas, placed second in the state in National Geography Bee in 1996

For Dallas Post


    For Dallas Post

    20 years ago — 1996

    When it comes to math and social studies, Tom Byron, Dallas, can usually find the correct answer. An eighth grade student at Wyoming Seminary, Tom placed second in the state in the National Geography Bee and second in the county in the recent Math Counts competition, in which he also placed fourth overall.

    The Lake Silkworth Area Lions recently honored Jeffrey Castellano and Erin Toole as Students of the Quarter at Lake-Lehman High School. Castellano, Toole and their families were guests of the Lions at a dinner meeting held at the Red Rooster Restaurant, Pikes Creek. The students were presented with savings bonds and certificates in recognition of outstanding school and community achievement.

    At a recent meeting of the Ladies Golf League of Newberry Country Club, the following officers were elected: Beth Rosenthal, chairman; Ruth Betty Baltimore, vice chairman; Joan Diana, secretary-treasurer; and Dolores Leehan, publicity.

    30 years ago — 1986

    Residents at the Meadows Nursing Center, Dallas, recently enjoyed a special spring music program presented by students from The Playschool, Dallas. Directing the program were play teachers, Mrs. Louise Hicks, 3 year old class, and Mrs. Sharon Jones, 4 and 5 year old classes. Performers were Tim Carroll, Becky Yeisley, Jake Walter, April Naugle, Jonathan Bird, Maria Wright, Beth Kolojejchick, Josh Mattey, Eddie Novak, Maura Narkiewicz, Paul Hiller, Elizabeth Albee, Katie Simok, Deanna Springer, Adam Schooley, Stephanie Pineno, Russell Wenrich, Russell Eyet, Tim Flannigan, Rachel Hiller, Bryan Taylor, Nick Raczkowski and Jennifer Holbrook.

    The Dallas Area Federated Woman’s Club recently honored club members who have belonged to the General Federation and Pennsylvania Federation of Woman’s Clubs for 20 years or more. Those honored were: Pat Smaka, Jane Stair, Martha Reese, Sheila Bonawitz, Marlene Rollman, Evelyn Farrell, Helen Davis, Alice Niskey, Diane Dreher, Jean Hillard, Mary Ann Davies, Jan Borton, Sandy Richardson and Theresa Thompson.

    The P.T.O. of Westmoreland Elementary School, Trucksville, recently awarded prizes to students who participated in the annual Easter Candy sale. This major fund-raiser supports field trips, enrichment program, holiday parties and special programs and projects during the school year. Winners are: Joshua Yoh, Brandon Case, Jennifer Sabatura, Amy Davenport, Stacey Engler, Rebecca Myers, Amy Musto, Brian Matosky, Joe Tairty and Jason Reynolds.

    40 years ago — 1976

    Dallas Junior Woman’s Club has finalized plans for a Rummage Sale May 6 and 7 at the Dallas United Methodist Church. Mrs. Arno Miller is chairman, assisted by Mrs. Frank Rollman, co-chairman; Mrs. Evan Bonawitz, Mrs. Douglas Shelley and Mrs. John Thomas.

    Members of the Back Mountain Cultural Center, Dallas Junior Woman’s Club, and Jay-C-Ettes are making hand-crafted items for the Folk Arts Festival in June at College Misericordia. Since January, the women have been holding weekly workshops where they have completed many items for the festival. Christmas trees were crafted by Mrs. Sheldon Munn, Mrs. John Thomas, Mrs. James C. Thomas, Mrs. Frank Rollman and Mrs. A.M. Grabenstetter.

    Tracey Slocum of Lake-Lehman, Wilkes-Barre YMCA wrestler, and Walter Hennebaul, of Harveys Lake, coach of Wilkes-Barre YMCA elementary wrestling team, were voted “Outstanding Wrestler” and “Coach of the Year” by the Penn Elementary Wrestling League.

    50 years ago — 1966

    The Saturday Story Hour initiated by Cadette Girl Scout Troop 644 in February will be continued under the direction of Mrs. Richard Dale, head librarian of the Back Mountain Library. Troop 644 is working on their Active Citizenship Challenge and the story hour has been their way to be of service to their community. Those girls participating in the project were: Vera Balshaw, Carol Crawford, Chris Demmy, Connie Havir and Priscilla Reese.

    Dallas Cub Pack 281 met at Dallas Methodist Church last month. The boys received Achievement Awards. Following the awards, a skit, “Knights of the Roundtable” was presented under the direction of Mrs. Jan Wasserott by Den 5. The cast included Jackie Coon, Billy Perry, Danna Parish, Rickie Earl and Jackie Cobleigh.

    60 years ago — 1956

    Brownie Troop 152, St. Therese’s, Shavertown, at a recent meeting, elected the following Brownie officers: president. Kathy Monahan; vice president, Molly Gallagher; secretary, Mary Lo Vitali; treasurer, Ann Schneider.

    Delegates to the Northeast District Chorus at Susquehanna last weekend from Dallas-Franklin-Monroe Township high school were Margaret Gunton and Paul Balshaw, both of the senior class. Louise Ohlman, instructor of vocal music, accompanied the delegates.

    Lady Toby Rebekah Lodge 514 will serve a spaghetti supper next Wednesday in the Trucksville Fire Hall. Ruth Belles is general chairman. Mathilda Croom has charge of the kitchen. Mildred Blake is chairman of the dining room, and Mary Shaver the ticket committee.

    70 years ago — 1946

    Dallas Chapter Odd Fellows and Teen Age Center will sponsor a minstrel show in Dallas Borough High School in May. Jack Roberts is chairman of the affair assisted by Mrs. Harry Ohlman, Mrs. Lloyd Kear and Tom Kingston. Stanley Davies will be director.

    Durbin Sunday School Class will sponsor a paper demonstration and tea Tuesday in the social rooms of Dallas Methodist Church. Committee members are: Mrs. Arthur Pruitt, chairman; Mrs. Ruth Lewin, co-chairman; Mrs. Catherine Evans, Mrs. Gwen Brown, Mrs. Gertrude Bodycomb and Mrs. Esther Bailey.

    The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

    The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.

    comments powered by Disqus