Only Yesterday: Dallas Borough kindergarteners produced 200-candle cake in celebration of U.S. birthday in 1976

For Dallas Post | March 16th, 2016 1:34 pm

For Dallas Post

20 years ago — 1996

The “Roaring Twenties” is the theme for the annual concert of the Wilkes-Barre Chapter, Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Barber Shop Quartet Singing in America set for April 13 at Bishop Hoban High School in Wilkes-Barre. Back Mountain members of the group are Charlie Davenport, Al Racht, Joe Fry, Bob Carey, Ted Rebennack, Phil Brown and Harry Howell.

Melissa Valeski and Wendy Wallo of the Showin’ Blue 4-H Club of Borrowdale Acres, Dallas, recently received recognition for their horse accomplishments in 1995. At the 4-H Horse Achievement banquet held recently at the Knight of Columbus, Melissa was awarded Senior Outstanding Horse Member in Luzerne County. Wendy received runner-up Junior Outstanding Member in Luzerne County.

The Jane M. Stitzer Memorial Spelling Bee was recently held at Dallas Middle School. The Bee is held to honor the memory of Jane M. Stitzer, a former middle school art department member. The winner was Nicholas Lopuhovsky, an eighth grade student. He outlasted 24 other participants from grades six, seven and eight.

30 years ago — 1986

Senior Girl Scout Elizabeth Williames, a member of Troop 634, Trucksville, was selected to participate in a Wider opportunity, which is a chance to experience Girl Scouting in different circumstances and surroundings like another country or another part of the United States. Elizabeth will be a member of the U.S.A. Patrol (12 girls and two adults) to the 1986 Austrian International Campo at Lilienfield, Austria.

Gate of Heaven fifth and sixth grade students will present a St. Patrick’s Day play this evening at the PTG meeting at the school gym. Sister Gratio is play director while Diane Wojciechowski is music director. Cast members are: Jeff Malak, Brian Jezuit, Erin Cuff, Darren Buss, Vicky Dorrence, Lauren O’Neill, Heather Walaitis, Josephine Zekus, Christin Stuart, Christine Giovannelli, David Wojciechowski and John Gilgallon.

Several members of Boy Scout Troop 281 recently participated in Penn Mountains Council’s Polar Bear Camporall at Frances Slocum Park. Seasonal outdoor activities included ice fishing, cross-country skiing, and a demonstration on winter survival. Participants included Davis Holdredge, Mark Chappell, Reggie Gayling, Shawn Price, John Charney, John Sinclair, Greg Steuben, Aric Gingo, Daniel Holdredge, Kevin Charney and Henry Steuben.

40 years ago — 1976

A bicentennial theme art show was held recently at the Shavertown office of The Wyoming National Bank showing work done by both adult and youth classes of Mrs. Mary Hughes. Prizes were awarded to: Mrs. Bernadette Ziminski, Mrs. Ruth Varker, Edward Chesnovitch, Ronda Schmidt, Mark Mahon and Jackie Lanico.

Dallas Borough kindergarteners recently produced a 200-candle birthday cake in celebration of the 200th birthday of the United States. Participating in the celebration were: Rebecca Rothschild, Lindsey Krivenko, Frank Spencer, Tracy Hunter, Joseph Chabala, Sean Gray, Bruce Weaver, Heather Mannix, Jean Stahovec, Brenda Crispell, Suzy Scott, Shawn Ruth, Amy Chamberlain, Claire Watchulonis, Sandra Rutkoski, Matt Repko, Rusty Williams, Jackie Carsman, Vania Brocius and James Lyons.

50 years ago — 1966

The Dallas Senior High School Band will present its annual spring concert next Friday. The majorettes will be featured in two numbers - Salute to P.M.E.A. March and United Nations March. Majorettes participating in the concert are: Carol Jeffrey, Nancy Brown, Karen Long, Myra Schroer, Jane Rozelle, Miriam Mohr, Rosellen Klaboe, Reba Heidel, Sharon Piekanski, Barbara Brown, head majorette, Deborah Savickas and Donna Smith.

Art and Sewing Contest winners were judged at the March meeting of Harveys Lake Women’s Service Club. Contestants were from Lake Lehman High School. The winner in the Art Contest was Linda Brown, with honorable mention to Gail Harrison and Betty Zapotaski. Winner in the Sewing Contest was Vicky Gennett, with honorable mention Donna Bryant and Susan Hunter.

60 years ago — 1956

Girls’ basketball team of Lake Noxen High School had an undefeated season for the fourth consecutive year under the fine supervision of coach, Mrs. Florence Worth. At the close of the season the girls were entertained at an ice cream and cake party given by James Worth. Team members are: Tanya Kocher, Janet Oney, Carlene Kocher, Judy Searfoss, Edna Gosart, Jeanette Ide, Jane Dougal, Thelma Dougal, Carol Deets, Virginia Dobson, Connie Smith, Hazel Sickler, Margaret McHose, Bonnie Kalbach, Joan Sickler, Grace Grey, Lois DelKanic, Annette Shalata, Patricia Bialogiwicz, Sandra Morris, Mae Titus, Barbara Rood, Peggy Coole, Nancy Kline and Sandie Engelman.

A ham supper is being served by the W.S.C.S. of Alderson Methodist Church Thursday. The committee in charge is Mrs. Garvin Smith, chairman, Mrs. William Deets and Mrs. Stephen Hartman. Mrs. Walbridge Leinthall will be in charge of seating in the dining room.

70 years ago — 1946

Mrs. Nelson Shaver will be the hostess when the Auxiliary of Dr. Henry M. Laing Fire Company meets at her home on Tuesday night. Members of the serving committee will be Mrs. Edwin Nelson, Mrs. Earl Monk and Mrs. Arthur Newman.

Dallas Junior and Chancel Choirs will take part in the Junior Choir Festival to be held in the Kingston Methodist Church Monday evening. A double quartet is composed of Mr. and Mrs. Floyd Ide, Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Kuhnert, Mr. and Mrs. John Roberts, Mrs. Harold Rood and William Archbald.

The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.