Only Yesterday: Girl Scout Committee of Carverton sponsored St. Patrick’s Day card party in 1946

For Dallas Post | March 2nd, 2016 1:56 pm

For Dallas Post

20 years ago — 1996

The Dallas girls’ basketball team defeated the girls from Bishop Hoban, 40-38, Saturday afternoon to earn a trip to the PIAA state tournament for the first time in school history. Members of the team are: Adrienne Camp, Becky Beisel, Sara Barlow, Katie Austin, Holly Baseski, Nikki Nackley, Janney Hite, Kristen Reese, Stacey Suda, Robin Suda, Abby Redmond, Carrie Fetterman, Sara Misson, Karen Kaleta and Segan Millington. The team is coached by Kim Barbacci.

Brownie Troop 929, St. Therese’s Church, Shavertown, recently performed its annual project of clipping and sorting Campbell Soup labels for Back Mountain Memorial Library under the supervision of Mrs. Marilyn Rudolph, children’s librarian. Members of the troop are Mary Balavage, Katie Fritzges, Sarah Bozentka, Jennifer Mines, Rachel Decker, Devin Lacey, Jackie Lowe, Rachel Symons, Samantha Geiser, Nikki Gelso, Eileen Reinert, Kathleen Paley, Janine Mitkus, Marcy Kester, Alli Snyder, Margo Johnson, Megan Johnson and Danielle Mitkus.

30 years ago — 1986

Nancy H. McGuire, Director of College Guidance at Wyoming Seminary Preparatory School, Kingston, recently announced that four Back Mountain students, who were previously selected Semi-Finalists in the 1986 National Merit Scholarship Competition, have been named as Finalists. The National Merit Scholarship Committee has awarded certificates of merit to Kathryn Quick, Harveys Lake; Sarah Rothschild, Dallas; and Anthony Stallone, Dallas.

At a recent meeting of the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science, conducted recently at the Dunmore campus of Penn State University, a senior student from Bishop O’Reilly High School, Kingston, won a $500 scholarship to Wilkes College as a result of her presentation. She is April Petroski, daughter of Stanley and Diane Petroski, Dallas. Miss Petroski garnered a first place in the math competition, as well as a Perseverance Award for having attended the Academy’s meetings for four years.

40 years ago — 1976

David Beamesderfer, Dallas, has been selected to enter a photo contest sponsored by Guide Magazine, depicting community service activities of the Pathfinder Club. A photo of David presenting a birthday cake to Mrs. Janet Mitchell, a resident of Leader Nursing Center, on behalf of the Kingston Pathfinders, was entered in the contest.

Dallas Intermediate Chorus will present a Bicentennial Musical “Tall Tom Jefferson” Friday in the junior high school auditorium. More than 250 students will participate. Danny Madigan will play the part of Tom Jefferson.

Coach Ed Ladamus’ Lake-Lehman Junior High wrestling team placed seven members in the final of District 2 Junior High mat tourney at Lake-Lehman last week. Finalists are: Joe Parsons, 98 lb. champ; Luther Jones, 105 lb. champ; Ernie Slocum, 125 lb. champ; Matt Dragon, 130 lb. runner-up; Bud Hennebul, 145 lb. champ and outstanding wrestler; Jim Ashton, 155 lb. champ; and Todd Kern, 185 lb. runner-up.

50 years ago — 1966

The Junior Class play, “Cheaper By the Dozen,” dramatized by Christopher Sergel, will be presented tomorrow evening in the Dallas Senior High School auditorium. Cast members include Bob Blair, Sharon Savage, Jeffrey Morris, Deborah Savickas, Nancy Covert, John Lewis, Donald Alexander, Jack Updyke, Susan Moore, Susan Fuller, Deborah Carruthers, Robert Elston, Pam Baker, Greg Hicks, Gail Doughton and Roger Cheney.

The Mothers of Mariner Troop 652 met at the home of Mrs. Ellen Crispell to discuss plans for another trip to Mystic, Conn. The girls have been accepted to live on the Joseph Conrad for a week in August. Mothers in attendance were: Mesdames James Mitchell, Floyd Milbrodt, Glenn Brown, Kenneth Bayliss, Archer Mohr, Richard Demmy, Jack Barnes and the hostess.

60 years ago — 1956

The various organizations of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, Shavertown, will present a minstrel show, “Way Out West” later this month in the Dallas Township High School auditorium. On the committee are Ralph Gerhart, chairman; Mrs. Fred J. Eck, cochairman; Chester Hartman, Dale Zimmerman, Mesdames Walter Heidere, Herbert Hill, Edith Templin, Byron Kitchen, Robert Voelker, Robert Bayer and Ralph Gerhart.

Louie W. Ayre presented a number of pupils in a piano recital St. Clements Parish House last evening. They were: Ann Aston, Barbara Aston, Camilla Ayers, Lois Brown, Ellen Brandstadter, Barry Derolf, Carol Eberle, Gerald Gavigan, Jay Griffiths, Linda Griffiths, Jane Hunt, Nancy Hunt, George Jacobs, Sharon John, Jerry Kammer, Carol Klinges, David Larmouth, Sandra Laidler, Beryl Lawson, Sara Malkemes, Dorothy Mathers, Georgia McCutcheon, Moncey Miller, Sandy Mitchell, Elsie Mae Monson, Miriam Oliver, Tom Pierce, Peggy Ann Perkins, Marilouise Pressman, Vernalee Pritchard, Richard Ratcliffe, Ellen Sanders, Roy Williams, Geoffrey Willig and Ann Woolbert.

70 years ago — 1946

Dallas I.O.O.F. will sponsor a card party next Tuesday at Jive Junction, Dallas Teen-Age Center. Committee members are Tom Kingston, Atlee Kocher and Vernon Whitaker.

Rocco Wallo, Huntsville heavyweight recently discharged from the Marines, won a decision over Billy Conroy, New York City, in a six round bout at West-Side Armory Friday night, giving one of the best performances on the whole fight bill.

The Girl Scout Committee of Carverton will sponsor a St. Patrick’s Day card party at Grange Hall Friday, March 15. Mrs. Lewis Harris has been chosen chairman and is now selecting her committees. Proceeds will be used to help defray expenses of scouts during the summer at Wildwood.

The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.