Only Yesterday: Mandatory evacuation of Wyoming Valley due to flooding fears leave 150 at Dallas High School in 1996

For Dallas Post | January 20th, 2016 12:58 pm

For Dallas Post

20 years ago — 1996

Volunteers at the Red Cross evacuation shelter at Dallas High School turned out early Saturday morning to care for about 150 people displaced by the mandatory evacuation of the Wyoming Valley. Many arrived at the shelter after spending much of the night helping their own family members or friends get away from the rising waters of the Susquehanna.

Second-grade students at Westmoreland School showed creativity, learning and fun at “Hat Day” last Friday. Each child was encouraged to wear a hat typifying a particular line of work, activity, region of the world, era in time or an original creation. Some of the participants were: Daniel Kinley, Brittany Sayre, Chris Parrish, Eric Myers, Shannon Dingle, Elysia Balavage, Tommy Perrego, Amy Yurchison, Kristy Kravitsky, Ally Kovalchik, Mario Oliveri, Celia Pambianco and Jillian Ungvarsky.

30 years ago — 1986

Dallas Gridiron Club honored members of the 1985 Dallas High School football team at the 6th Annual Football Banquet held at Sheraton-Crossgates in Wilkes-Barre. The senior members of the varsity, who were presented awards, are Chris Dreher, Tim Evans, John Harris, Tim Kern, Mark Konopki, Mark Kraynak, Rich Long, Alan Longnecker, Tim Lyons, Gerry Mihalick, Ron Ostrowski, Jim Perkowski, Mark Ramirez and Chris Vincelli.

Dallas Senior High School Yearbook Advisor William R. Wagner and Editor-in-Chief Ernest Barber announce that last year’s 1985 yearbook placed first in a national critique and review conducted by the American Scholastic Press Association. Members of the yearbook staff include Lori Falcone, Terri Hrubowchak, Michelle Hayes, Jackie Holdredge, Ernie Barber, Rich Holthaus, LeeAnn Petro, Crista Scholz, Tracy Davis, Steve Ashworth, Cathy Leonard, Janet Sitkowski, Robin Domzalski, Kim Morgan, Suzanne Infantino, Leslie Meyers, John Kutz, Dave Dillon, Rich Gumbravich, Beth Luksic and Missy Davies.

40 years ago — 1976

The Auxiliary of the Shavertown Fire Company held their installation of officers earlier this month at their first meeting of the year. Mrs. Vivian Newcomb was installed as president; Mrs. Rose Rinehimer, vice president; Mrs. Eleanor Fredericka, secretary; and Mrs. Alice Dorosky, treasurer.

A new Back Mountain Kiwanis Club organized last week and will meet on Saturdays at 8 a.m. at the Mark II Restaurant, Dallas. Organizers included Mike Nardone, Sam Austin, Jim Snyder, Joe McDonald, Leo Nauroth, Bill Tregaskis, George McCutcheon, Stetson Swan, Steve Klaboe, Bob Carr and Ray Hillman, president of the Dallas Kiwanis Club.

50 years ago — 1966

Dr. John A. Blase was installed last night as President of the Kiwanis Club at impressive ceremonies held at the Irem Temple Country Club. Blase succeeds retiring President Robert Dolbear. Also installed were: First Vice President, Larry Lefko; Second Vice President, Robert W. Parry; Treasurer, James B. Huston, Sr.; and Secretary, Vincent D. Roman.

Lori Lutsey, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Milton Lutsey, Dallas, was guest of honor at a birthday party on Saturday when she celebrated her 4th birthday. Birthday cake and favors were in a pink and white decor and several little playmates, Sheryl Newberry, Sharon Morris and Lisa Cochran joined in the festivities for Lori.

The members of the choir of Dallas Chapter No. 396 Order of Eastern Star will hold a Snowball Game and Card Party at the Eastern Star Building, Foster Street, this Wednesday. The chairman, Mrs. Irene Transue, will be assisted by Mrs. Mildred Garinger and Miss Barbara Rood, cochairmen who have made plans for refreshments, door prizes and table prizes.

60 years ago — 1956

Blue Ridge Chapter, Future Farmers of America, of Lehman-Jackson-Ross high school, has elected Eleanor Rodriguez, president of Future Homemakers, as Chapter Sweetheart. Miss Rodriguez will be crowned at the Sweetheart Dance on Feb. 3 in the school gymnasium.

Dallas Junior Women’s Club Executive Board met Tuesday evening and voted acceptance of three new members: Mrs. Ralph Husband, Mrs. Robert T. Lesser, and Betsey Bunney.

Dean Shaver was elected president at the annual meeting of the Directors of Harveys Lake Rod and Gun Club at Herman Kern’s Restaurant on Monday night. Other officers elected were: Carleton Kocher, first vice president; Fred Dodson, second vice president; Ted LaVelle, third vice president; Peg Robbins, corresponding secretary; Loretta Nelson, financial secretary; and Herman Kern, treasurer.

70 years ago — 1946

Louie Weigand Ayre will present a group of students in an Ensemble Recital tonight in Trucksville Methodist Church. Taking part will be: Georgiena DeWitt, Marjorie DeWitt, Wilma Robbins, Charlotte Gregory, Richard Davis, Barbara Davis, Carl Goodwin, Patty Roberts, Nancy Roberts, Donald Roberts, Harry Trebilcox, Laura Perkins, Charlotte Perkins, Charles Perkins, Barbara Dana, Dawn Dick, Sylvia Brown, Betsy Reynolds, Mae Evans, Robert Johnson, Mary Joan Williams, Louise Karn, Mary Crane, Betty Griffith, Anne Hall, Elinor Downes, Norma Carey and Beverly Dixon.

A Mr. and Mrs. Club was organized last Friday evening at the white Church on the Hill. The club is primarily for good fellowship and is open to any married couple in the community, young or old. At the organization meeting, the Stookeys were elected president; the Ides vice president; the Shortze’s, secretary; the Wilcox’s, treasurer.

The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.