Only Yesterday: Lake-Noxen Elementary students ride in a limo to McDonald’s in 1995

For Dallas Post | December 16th, 2015 12:51 pm

For Dallas Post

20 years ago — 1995

Eight Lake-Noxen Elementary School students were the toast of the town last Friday when they rode a white stretch limousine to McDonald’s for lunch. The students’ names were drawn at random from the entire student body, which sold candy and other items in the school’s annual fund raising drive. The top seller was Samantha Long (K-1), who won a $100 Toys R Us gift certificate. Those who rode in style to McDonald’s were: Randy Boatman, Tiffany Hooker, Matt Belles, Nicole Scull, Danny Emmett, Linda Korbeil, Doran Volkel and Jared Kettle.

Kristy Rice of Trucksville recently received an engraved plate by Joseph Mooney of the Pinebrook Inn. The plate commemorates Rice’s record three-year span as the Rossetti Art Exhibit’s highest award. The daughter of Fulton and Linda Rice of Trucksville, Kristy is a 1995 graduate of the Dallas Area School District. She has received numerous artistic honors and awards and she plans a career in the visual arts.

30 years ago — 1985

Cub Pack 281 conducted a service project this year that acknowledged and thanked the Dallas Methodist Church for offering its facilities for the pack’s monthly meetings. This year, the Cub Pack discovered that the church’s Christmas tree needed ornaments to replace the old worn ones from previous years. Each den hand-painted and decorated ceramic ornaments for the church and helped decorate the tree last Saturday. Tree-trimmers included Willie Morgon, Donny Hartshorne, Eric St. Clair, Aaron Gingo, Michael Goldsmith, Dennis Miller, Kris Miller, Jamie Bottoms, Carl Wiedlick, David Townend, Brad Kozick, David Seidel, Andy Flint, Chris Thomas, Ron Hubbard and Chris Brown.

In a traditional candlelighting ceremony, Junior Girl Scout troop 633 of Shavertown, recently rededicated themselves to the Girl Scout Promise and Law. Each girl promised to serve God, their country and other people as they lit a blue flame for purity. Troop members are: Heather Adams, Kara Wojtowicz, Valerie Marino, Maria Farris, Melanie belles, Michelle Metzger, Lori Buss, Stacey Gobbler, Karen Wisnieski, Maryann Ochman, Nancy Kingsbury, Robin Dennis, Valerie Gorda, Mindy Henry and Jennifer Krakosky.

40 years ago — 1975

Linda Overman, sophomore at Dallas Senior High School, has been named a winner of the Voice of Democracy Contest, it has been announced by John A. Favata, Jr., vice commander of VFW Post 283, Kingston. Ms. Overman, daughter of Mrs. Olwen Overman, Shavertown, was among contestants from Wyoming Valley West and Bishop O’Reilly who wrote an essay on Democracy and then taped it for judging.

Senior members of the Lake-Lehman High School Band were presented jackets with the band emblem by the Band Sponsor’s Association at Saturday’s dinner honoring the group. Recipients were: Jackie Houser, Gwen Salansky, Diane Godleski, Cindy Pall, Marianne Dennis, Kathleen Borton, Debbie Williams, Diane Pall, Cindy Oncay, Allen Wright, David Scott, Phillip Smith, Suzanne Salansky, Pamela Phillips, Gina Major, Sandy Harrall, Greg James, Paul DeBarry, Leo Pall, June Engle, Donna Sutliff, Mary Beth Duffy, Karen Maloney, Laurie Dockeray, Nancy Kleban, Paula Webb and Cindy Yascur.

50 years ago — 1965

LaRoy Zeigler, chairman of Kingston Township Board of Supervisors swore in Shavertown Fire Police last Wednesday evening. Fire police will maintain order and direct traffic during any blaze or emergency. This is an innovation in this district. Sworn in were: Bert Miller, Francis O’Hara, William Kreischer, Obed Hontz, John Chapple, Ted Woolbert, Tony Plata, William Robert and Fred Dodson. Two special officers were also sworn in: Calvin Crane and Walter Lushefski.

Mrs. Albert E. Turner, Carverton Road, will appear on the Nancy Dolphin Show over t-v December 30. Accompanied by Carol Sutton, she will sing Musetta’s Waltz, her favorite aria from La Boheme. Mrs. Turner will also talk on Indian lore, with special emphasis on Frances Slocum, and the new state park, now in process of construction.

George A. Tattersfield, RD 4, Dallas, has been named to the Lees Carpets 100% Club. As a member of the club, he joins an elite sales team that is selected annually for excellence in retail marketing, advertising and display. Mr. Tattersfield has been named to the 100% Club for the second time.

60 years ago — 1955

Students of the first, second and third grades of the Dallas-Franklin-Monroe Joint Schools presented a Christmas operetta, “Peter Rabbit,” last weekend. The cast included Reese Finn, Rosemary Zekas, Robert Dolbear, Jr., Diane Pickett, Ann Marie Goble, Veronica Jerista, Nancy Covert and Thomas Meyers.

Students and faculty of the Lehman-Jackson-Ross choir will present, “The Music of Christmas” at the school Sunday evening. Taking part are: Carol Cutting, Cindy Disque, Margo Davenport, and Deatra Elston, Marcia Elston, Louise Ellsworth, Shirley Elston, Mrs. Howard Ehret, Judy Hess, Mrs. William Simms, Phyllis Swan, Mrs. William Sutton, Mrs. Garvin Tough, Donna Cundiff, Althea Disque, Patsy Ide, Beverly Major, Joan DeRemer, Homer Middleton, Ronald Nuss, Ray Rumbarger, James Barrall, Clifford Erwine, Art Nuss, Charles Nuss and Garvin Tough.

70 years ago — 1945

Miss Mary Jackson, who has been a Red Cross recreational worker for the past seventeen months, has arrived in New York and will spend the Christmas holidays with her family at Beaumont. Miss Jackson, a former Dallas Township teacher, has recently been serving with the 302nd Station Hospital in Germany.

Members of Dallas Township football team and their coach, Tony Barbose, were guests of honor at a banquet in the High School auditorium Monday evening. The dinner was served in appreciation of the squad’s fine record during the past season and was prepared and served by members of the Home Economics Department under the direction of Miss Cynthia Poad. Letter awards were presented to the following: Warren Fowler, Howard Garbutt, Bill Hart, Bob Hughes, Raymond Kuhnert, Robert Moore, Joe Tondora, Richard Wallace, William Wasser, Tex Wilson, William Borton, Donald Bunney, and Clyde Hope Jr.

The Dallas Post is 126 years old. Information for “Only Yesterday” is printed exactly as it appeared originally.